Looking for the best protein bars is difficult, especially when it has a wide variety available at grocery stores. But the struggle doesn’t end there, some of these protein bars contain gluten and soy. Gluten is a type of protein commonly found in wheat, this protein act as a “glue” to hold the food together, and most of the time, this ingredient is not indicated in food products.
Why are gluten and soy not included?
There are individuals who suffer from allergic reaction towards gluten and soy, with soy being one of the most common to cause allergies, especially in children. The most well-known is the Celia c disease, wherein it’s the most severe form of gluten allergy. In order to prevent this, protein bar manufacturers decided to omit gluten and soy in their ingredients so that everyone can enjoy and safely eat their protein bars. These protein bars are considered the best in both being safely consumed and providing sufficient energy.
In order to help you choose a gluten-free or soy-free protein bar, here’s a small list of best protein bars available in the market.
Macro bars: their protein bars are composed mainly of brown rice, with different flavors added so that consumers would enjoy it better. It’s very chewy and the flavor blends very well, it’s also not very sweet. These are confirmed to be gluten-free. Their best seller is the peanut butter flavor.
- Rise Bar: these are perfect as a meal replacement (if you’re in a hurry). The protein source comes from almond butter and whey protein isolate. They are certified gluten-free and these are manufactured in a factory with no soy and peanut.
- Square-bar: these are protein bars manufactured for a vegan diet. The protein source also came from brown rice and these are both gluten-free and soy-free.